Vita

The multi-award winning film composer K.S. Elias composed the score for over 100 movies, television films, documentaries and over 400 television episodes. From classic orchestra to contemporary: electro, hip-hop, dance, pop, rock, electroswing.

K. S. Elias (Karim Sebastian Elias) studied from 1992 to 1998 at the Folkwang University of the Arts. As a film composer he composed and produced the score for over 100 movies, television films and documentaries and over 400 television episodes. Including the music for the award-winning feature film “Rhythm is it!”, which was awarded for the GERMAN and BAVARIAN FILM AWARDS. He recorded the score with the Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker. His film score for the TV movie “The Treasure Island” and “Bella Block – White Nights” was awarded with the GERMAN TELEVISION AWARD in the category “Best Music”.

His music for the feature “IOf Fathers and Sons”, which received the World Documentary Grand Jury Price at Sundance Festival 2018, was well received at the film launch in the „Hollywood Reporter“.
 
The TV broadcaster SWR and the film funding agency MFG awarded him with the “Rolf Hans Müller Prize for film score”. He was nominated in the category KOMPOSITION AUDIOVISUELLE MEDIEN for the German Music Authors Award of GEMA. His music for the feature “In Heaven Underground”, which received the PANORAMA AWARD at the 61st Berlinale, was well received at the film launch in New York with the “Huffington Post”, the “The Jewish Week NY” and the “Movie Journal International”.
 
K. S. Elias composes for the successful German television series “Tatort”, “Polizeiruf” and “Schimanski”. He received a “Golden CD” for more than 150,000 sold records for the composition and production of the CD “Behind Bars” with songs and film score of the series.
 
He composed the score for the TV movie “Die Spielerin” and “Die Fahnderin” as well as for “Nothing more like before”, which was awarded with the Audience Award of the “German Television Crime Festival” and for which he was nominated for the GERMAN TV AWARD 2016.
 
At the cinema festival in Lünen, he was awarded with the prize for the best film score for his compositions of the cinema documentary film “Gerdas Schweigen”. His score for the feature “Siegfried” produced by Bernd Eichinger, was preselected for the GERMAN FILM AWARD.
 
The feature film “The Butterfly Hunter”, for which he wrote the score, was shown at the “Viennale” and at the “Duisburg Film Week”. Since 2016 he is composing the music for the successful Sat.1 series “Einstein”. The feature film “Zwischen Welten”, for which he composed the score, in 2014 ran in the competition for the Golden Bear at the 64th Berlinale.

In 2016, the two-parter “Die Dasslers” received the Bernd Burgemeister Television Award at the Filmfest in Munich with his film score. For the movie “Rabbi Wolff” he received the prize of the Ecumenical Jury at the Achtung Berlin Filmfestival. K. S. Elias composed the film music for the TV series “The Puppeteers” by Rainer Kaufmann, which ran in 2017 at the Munich Film Festival. The feature film documentary “Of Fathers and Sons” ran in 2017 at the IDFA in Amsterdam (IDFA Competition for Feature Length Documentary) and is selected for the  Sundance – World Cinema Documentary Competition in 2018.
 
For Otto Waalkes he wrote the Big Band – & Orchestra Score to “Otto`s Eleven”. For Otto Waalkes he also composed and arranged two family concerts in the Berlin Philharmonie with orchestra and Otto as narrator. For the Nikolaisaal in Potsdam he composed a new version of the “Weihnachtsgans Auguste” for orchestra and narrator.
 
For the recordings of his music he worked among others with the Berliner Philharmoniker, the BSOF, Giora Feidmann and Till Brönner.
 
Elias was a member of the jury for the German Music Authors’ Prize of the GEMA in 2013 and 2014 and in the pre-selection jury for the GERMAN FILM AWARD in 2012.
 
In the handbook ‘Functional Music’ of the Springer Professional he published the article “Film Music Today – From the Everyday Work of a Contemporary Film Composer” in 2017. In the book ‘Filmmusik-Bekenntnisse’ by Béatrice Otterbau and Thomas Schadt he gave insights into his work as a film composer.
 
In co-operation with the Deutsche Filmakademie, its ‘Wissensportal vierundazwanzig’ and the Filmuniversität Babelsberg, he initiated a filmed masterclass in 2017, for which he interviewed the nominees of the Deutscher Filmpreis in the category “Best Music” and analyzed their compositions in terms of their impact.
 
In 2013, K.S. Elias was appointed Professor for “Composition and Arrangement for Media” in the master film music program at the Film University Babelsberg Konrad Wolf.
 
Since 2017 he is a member of the board of the German Film Academy.

Vita

Der mehrfach ausgezeichnete Filmkomponist K.S. Elias komponierte die Musik für über 100 Kinofilme, Fernsehfilme, Dokumentationen und über 400 Serienfolgen. Von Orchester bis Contemporary: Elektro, Hip-Hop, Dance, Pop, Rock, Elektroswing.

Der Filmkomponist K.S. Elias (Karim Sebastian Elias) studierte von 1992 bis 1998 an der Folkwang Universität der Künste. Er komponierte und produzierte als Filmkomponist die Musik für über 100 Kinofilme, Fernsehfilme und Dokumentationen und über 400 Serienfolgen. Darunter auch die Musik für den vielfach ausgezeichneten Kinofilm „Rhythm is it!“, der u.a. mit dem DEUTSCHEN und dem BAYERISCHEN FILMPREIS ausgezeichnet wurde. Die Musik spielte er mit der Karajan Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker ein. Seine Filmmusik für den Fernsehfilm „Die Schatzinsel“ und „Bella Block – Weiße Nächte“ wurden mit dem DEUTSCHEN FERNSEHPREIS in der Kategorie „Beste Musik“ ausgezeichnet.

Seine Musik zu „Of Fathers and Sons“, der auf dem Sundance Festival 2018 mit dem World Documentary Grand Jury Price ausgezeichnet wurde, wurde im „Hollywood Reporter“ lobend erwähnt.

Der Fernsehsender SWR und die Filmförderung MFG verliehen ihm den „Rolf-Hans-Müller-Preis für Filmmusik“. Er wurde in der Kategorie KOMPOSITION AUDIOVISUELLE MEDIEN für den Deutschen Musikautorenpreis der GEMA nominiert. Seine Musik für den mit dem PANORAMAPREIS der 61. Berlinale ausgezeichneten Film „Im Himmel unter der Erde“ („In Heaven Underground“) wurde zum Filmstart in New York in der „Huffington Post“ , der „The Jewish Week NY“ und dem „Film Journal International“ lobend erwähnt.

K. S. Elias komponiert für die erfolgreichen deutschen Fernsehserien „Tatort“, „Polizeiruf“ und „Schimanski“. Eine „Goldene CD“ erhielt er für mehr als 150.000 verkaufte Tonträger für die Komposition und Produktion der CD „Hinter Gittern“ mit Songs und Filmmusik zur Serie.

Für die Fernsehfilm „Die Spielerin“ und „Die Fahnderin“ komponierte er die Filmmusik, ebenso wie für „Nichts mehr wie vorher“, der mit dem Publikumspreis des „Deutschen Fernsehkrimi Festivals“ ausgezeichnet wurde, und für den er für den DEUTSCHEN FERNSEHPREIS 2016 nominiert wurde.

Auf dem Kinofestival in Lünen wurde er für seine Kompositionen zu dem Kino-Dokumentarfilm „Gerdas Schweigen“ mit dem Preis für die Beste Filmmusik ausgezeichnet. Seine Filmmusik für den von Bernd Eichinger produzierten Film „Siegfried“ wurde für den DEUTSCHEN FILMPREIS vorausgewählt.

Der Kinofilm „Der Schmetterlingsjäger“, für den er den Score schrieb, wurde auf der „Viennale“ und auf der „Duisburger Filmwoche“ gezeigt. Seit 2016 komponiert er die Musik für die erfolgreiche Sat1-Serie „Einstein“. Der Kinofilm „Zwischen Welten“, für den er Musik komponierte, lief 2014 im Wettbewerb um den Goldenen Bären auf der 64. Berlinale.

Im Jahr 2016 erhielt der Zweiteiler „Die Dasslers“ mit seiner Filmmusik den Bernd-Burgemeister-Fernsehpreis auf dem Filmfest in München. Für den Kinofilm „Rabbi Wolff“ erhielt den Preis der Ökumenischen Jury beim Achtung Berlin Filmfestival. K.S. Elias komponierte die Filmmusik für den Fernseher-Mehrteiler „Die Puppenspieler“ von Rainer Kaufmann, der 2017 auf dem Filmfest München im Wettbewerb lief. Der Kinodokumentarfilm „Of Fathers and Sons“ lief im Jahr 2017 im Wettbewerb der IDFA in Amsterdam (IDFA Competion for Feature Length Documentary) und im Jahr 2018 im Wettbewerb in Sundance – World Cinema Documentary Competition.

Für Otto Waalkes schrieb er den Big Band – & Orchesterscore zu „Otto`s Eleven“. Ebenso komponierte und arrangierte er für Otto Waalkes zwei Familienkonzerte in der Berliner Philharmonie mit Orchester und Otto als Erzähler. Für den Nikolaisaal in Potsdam komponierte er eine neue Fassung der „Weihnachtsgans Auguste“ für Orchester und Erzähler.

Für die Aufnahmen seiner Musik arbeitete er u. a. mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem BSOF, Giora Feidmann und Till Brönner zusammen.

Elias war in den Jahren 2013 und 2014 in der Jury für den Deutschen Musikautorenpreis der GEMA und im Jahr 2012 in der Vorauswahljury für den DEUTSCHEN FILMPREIS.

Im Springer Professional veröffentlichte er 2017 im Handbuch Funktionale Musik den Artikel „Filmmusik heute – Aus dem Arbeitsalltag eines zeitgenössischen Filmkomponisten“. Im Buch Filmmusik-Bekenntnisse von Béatrice Otterbau und Thomas Schadt gab er Einblicke in seine Arbeit als Filmkomponist.

In Kooperation mit mit der Deutschen Filmakademie, deren Wissensportal vierundazwanzig und der Filmuniversität Babelsberg initiierte er 2017 eine verfilmte Masterclass, für die er die Nominierten des Deutschen Filmpreises in der Kategorie „Beste Musik“ interviewte und deren Kompositionen auf ihre Wirkungsweise hin analysierte.

K.S. Elias wurde im Jahr 2013 als Professor für „Komposition und Arrangement für Medien“ im Master Studiengang Filmmusik an die Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf berufen.

Seit 2017 ist er Mitglied im Vorstand der Deutschen Filmakademie.